Elephants Facts for Kids

Cite This Page

What Is An Elephant?

Elephants are mammals in the taxonomic family Elephantidae, which includes three living species: the African bush elephant, the African forest elephant, and the Asian elephant. All elephants have long trunks, tusks, large ears, thick legs, and tough grey skin. Elephants are the largest living land species, with the largest African bush elephant on record measuring nearly 4 m tall and 11,000 kg.


  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Phylum: Chordata
  • Class: Mammalia
  • Order: Proboscidea
  • Family: Elephantidae


By submitting a comment, you promise that you have your parent or guardian's permission, are 13 or older, and agree to Experimonkey's Terms of Use.