Elephants Facts for Kids

Cite This Page

Updated 1 January 2020

So, What Exactly Are Elephants?

Elephants are mammals in the taxonomic family Elephantidae, which includes three living species: the African bush elephant, the African forest elephant, and the Asian elephant. All elephants have long trunks, tusks, large ears, thick legs, and tough grey skin. Elephants are the largest living land species, with the largest African bush elephant on record measuring nearly 4 m tall and 11,000 kg.


Totally Random Facts About Elephants!

Hmm... there doesn't seem to be anything here yet.

Related Topics & Further Reading